What can YOU do?

I’d like to wake up one day where I don’t have to fight Lyme Disease, Babesia, Bartonella, Mycoplasma or any other disease that a tick decided to give me when he bit me that one time and stayed for breakfast, lunch & dinner.   I use the little spurts of energy I have for one thing – advocacy. I use the term “energy” loosely.

Next Thursday begins Lyme Disease Awareness Month. It’s unofficial in many states, but here in NC – it has been recognized by a proclamation signed by our Governor. I feel guilty that I haven’t personally planned some grand event in the Raleigh area.  Right now – there isn’t one being planned – at least not on any grand scale that I’m aware of.  I feel awful about that.  Truly – pit of my stomach – awful.  I think about the planning that goes into a big event.  I think about the day of the big events.  I think of the little support in the planning & setting up -and I know it’s all just too much for me, right now at this point in my treatment.

I think about how hyped up I get in my head about the “big event” – and then I think about the “let down” I feel – when the same people show up. It’s almost like preaching to the choir. I try to “lift my spirits”: by saying – if help only one – but I don’t want to help just one.  I want to show all of North Carolina – that one tick can change your life. I would know.  It changed mine.

I hear constantly about what people can’t do – I want to start hearing what we CAN do.

What can YOU do for Lyme Disease Awareness Month? Here are 7 things that I can do.  (I will likely do 5 of the 7 of them).  Please comment with what you CAN do for Lyme Disease Awareness Month.

  • I can put together a packet of information for my Primary Care doctor and have my husband drop it off when he goes for his next visit.

 

  • I can set up an informational booth on my own front lawn during a community yard sale.  I’ve done this in the past and it worked well.  I even had some things for purchase which brought people over.  I educated  a lot of people that day on how to properly remove ticks.  In all honesty, I probably won’t do it this year because our community yard sale is tomorrow and I absolutely have no stamina to stay out there from 6 to 11 by myself, but this would be something FREE I could do because I have all of the materials – supplies – and I even have a table!

 

  • I can stand side by side with another Lyme advocate that has planned, prepared & set up a Lyme Booth in the Raleigh area for a couple of hours where I didn’t need to bring anything except my body.

 

  • I can tie a lime green ribbon on my mail box to show my solidarity for Lyme Disease Awareness Month. I will go to Michaels to pick up one that is already pre-made or – pick out the ribbon I like the most and have them make it for me.  It’s generally under $8.99 – and it looks nice  and I don’t have to do it myself. – This time it was $4.19!

 

  • I can order a few Lawn signs and ask if I can put them out at different around the community.  I would put it in my yard at  home, but it’s against our HOA rules.  However that doesn’t stop me from asking businesses if I could put my signs up near them – especially businesses that could be related – such as Vet’s offices.  And if they aren’t weathered too badly – I could clean them up at the end of the month and reuse them in 2015!

 

  • I can wear my Lyme Disease Shirts in public ( I can – and did – fundraiser with T-shirts!) This gets people asking about Lyme.  While I was getting a bow – I had THREE people ask me about Lyme Disease.  Considering the store was empty – that’s amazing!  I also had the  man at the post office ask me.  Awareness can happen anywhere at any time – and if you have a shirt on – you may be provided with the opportunity to raise awareness about Lyme Disease.

 

This entry was posted in NC Lyme Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What can YOU do?

  1. Janis Cyrus says:

    These are excellent suggestions – I plan on sending the information out on my Facebook page and on the business associations Email page – I will also add a comment on the governor’s Facebook page

Leave a Reply

